Data centres / Ireland / Dublin
Data centre projects in Dublin
These are the data-centre projects of 5 MW or more around Dublin that our pipeline tracker follows: 12 projects, 12 of them permitted or already being built. One national rule shapes new sites here: new connecting data centres must match at least 80% of annual demand with additional renewable-electricity projects (in force).
Projects by stage
- Permitted8
- Under construction3
- Structure complete1
What the capacity figures measure
- IT load2
- Facility, campus or unstated basis2
- No capacity published8
Each project’s capacity is quoted on its own stated basis, so the figures are never added together.
What changed
4 milestones in the last 90 days. The newest check was on 12 Oct 2026; each row below shows its own.
- Sep 2026Google Grange Castle, third building an Coimisiún Pleanála granted Google's first-party appeal on 24 September 2026, overturning the council refusal for a 72,400 sq m data storage facility, the third phase of the campus. Permitted
- Jul 2026Vantage Profile Park campus, two data centres (DUB11 Ltd) company filings show a EUR 152 million impairment for construction delays and EUR 151.7 million expected compensation to future customers for late delivery; construction began in early 2023 and tenants are secured. Under construction
- Jul 2026Pure DC Dublin campus, amalgamated DC2/DC3 building, Ballycoolin fingal County Council issued a notification of intention to grant permission on 13 March 2026 (FW26A/0021E) for a c.22,295 sq m data centre building merging DC2 and DC3; the appeal against its development contribution condition was decided on 24 July 2026. Permitted
- Jul 2026Microsoft Grange Castle campus, DUB14 and DUB15 with central administration building south Dublin County Council granted an extension of duration for permission SD20A/0283 (two data centres DUB14 and DUB15 plus a central administration building) on 21 July 2026, after the extension application was received on 27 May 2026. Permitted
- Jun 2026Echelon Clondalkin campus, ICT Facilities 1 to 4, Crag Avenue south Dublin County Council granted an extension of duration for permission SD20A/0309 (four ICT facility buildings) on 16 June 2026; a retention application for amendments made to ICT Facility 1 during construction (SD25A/0301W) was at further-information stage on 11 February 2026. Under construction
Projects
| Project | Capacity | Stage and latest milestone | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Digital Realty DUB4Digital RealtyGrange Castle Business Park, Clondalkin, Dublin 22 (South Dublin) | 9 MWfacility capacityBuilding constructed but not in service after grid connection was denied. | Structure complete Digital Realty said it will partner with an energy company to build its own gas power plant for the completed but unconnected DUB4 building, following the July 2025 private wires policy, Jul 2025 | 10 Oct 2026 |
| Vantage Profile Park campus, two data centres (DUB11 Ltd)Vantage Data Centers (Vantage Data Centers DUB11 Ltd)Profile Park, Kilbride, Clondalkin, Dublin 22 (South Dublin) | 52 MWIT load of the Profile Park project (two data centres on a 38,000 sq m site), as reported in July 2026Construction is behind schedule; the figure is the delivered IT load the project is designed for, not a connected load. | Under construction Company filings show a EUR 152 million impairment for construction delays and EUR 151.7 million expected compensation to future customers for late delivery; construction began in early 2023 and tenants are secured., Jul 2026 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Echelon Clondalkin campus, ICT Facilities 1 to 4, Crag AvenueEchelon Data Centres (Echelon Clondalkin DC Services Limited)3-4 Crag Avenue, Clondalkin Industrial Estate, Clondalkin, Dublin 22 (South Dublin) | Not disclosed; the permission gives gross floor area only (four ICT facilities, combined c.47,564.5 sq mWorks have started: a retention application filed in 2025 and at further-information stage in February 2026 covers amendments to ICT Facility 1 made during construction. A replacement, larger ICT Facility 4 of 15,744 sq m (SD24A/0201) was refused by the council on 15 Oct 2024 and the first-party appeal PL06S.321230 shows no decision on the case page. The extension applicant on the 2026 entry is named Silverstone House at the same address. | Under construction South Dublin County Council granted an extension of duration for permission SD20A/0309 (four ICT facility buildings) on 16 June 2026; a retention application for amendments made to ICT Facility 1 during construction (SD25A/0301W) was at further-information stage on 11 February 2026., Jun 2026 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Equinix DB7xEquinixBlanchardstown, Dublin 15 (Fingal) | Not disclosedThe release gives 1,322 sq m and an anticipated $78 million investment in the facility, plus $14 million for a retail IBX buildout. It requires no additional grid power and uses power already allocated to an existing Equinix site. | Under construction Equinix announced construction had begun on DB7x next to its existing Blanchardstown data centres, Mar 2026Expected: Retail capacity available to enterprises from early 2028 | 10 Oct 2026 |
| AWS Cruiserath Road campus, Data Centres E, F and GAmazon Web Services (applicant Universal Developers LLC)Cruiserath Road, Mulhuddart, Dublin 15 (Fingal) | 73 MWcombined power load of the three data centres | Permitted An Coimisiún Pleanála granted permission for three data centres after third-party appeals against Fingal County Council's September 2023 grant, Dec 2025 | 10 Oct 2026 |
| Pure DC Dublin campus, amalgamated DC2/DC3 building, BallycoolinPure DC (applicant South Dublin Routing 4 No. 2 Limited)Orion Business Park, North-West Business Park, Ballycoolin, Dublin 15 (Fingal) | 54 MWIT capacity currently permitted at the Ballycoolin campus, per the owner's financing announcementThe campus is designed for up to 150 MW of IT capacity; 54 MW is the permitted figure and includes the first building, whose construction began in 2022. The 110 MW on-site microgrid is a power supply, not data hall capacity. The new building is c.22,295 sq m, merging permitted DC2 and DC3, with a 10 MVA/38 kV substation. | Permitted Fingal County Council issued a notification of intention to grant permission on 13 March 2026 (FW26A/0021E) for a c.22,295 sq m data centre building merging DC2 and DC3; the appeal against its development contribution condition was decided on 24 July 2026., Jul 2026 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| CyrusOne Grange Castle South, Building B (permitted data centre development)CyrusOne (CyrusOne Irish Datacentres Holdings Ltd.)Grange Castle South Business Park, Baldonnel, Dublin 22 (South Dublin) | Not disclosedPermission SD18A/0134 (ABP-302813-18) as amended by SD20A/0295. The decision lists Building A items as retentions and modifications to Building B Data Centre as new works; no MW figure is given. | Permitted South Dublin County Council granted an extension of duration of amendment permission SD20A/0295, which covers new works including Building B Data Centre, May 2026 | 10 Oct 2026 |
| Data & Power Hub Services Newcastle ICT facilities A and BData & Power Hub Services LimitedMilltown townland, north of Peamount Road (R120), Newcastle, Co. Dublin (South Dublin), 8.2 ha site | Not disclosed; the permission gives two ICT facilities of c.15,196 sq m each (30,518 sq m in total) and 18 emergency generators per buildingGenerator count is not capacity. The gas installation and pressure reduction station for the site (SD25A/0135W, June 2025) was approved and amended again on 30 September 2026. The extension of duration has been applied for but no decision is listed, so the existing permission stands. | Permitted An application to extend the duration of permission SD20A/0324 for the two ICT facilities was received on 16 April 2026; no decision appears in the council lists to 2 October 2026., Apr 2026 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| EdgeConneX Ballymakaily data centresEdgeConneX Ireland LimitedBallymakaily, west of Newcastle Road (R120), Lucan, Co. Dublin (South Dublin) | Not disclosedTwo adjoined single storey data centres with 24 standby generators; no MW figure published. | Permitted An Coimisiún Pleanála granted permission with conditions on appeal, overturning South Dublin County Council's July 2023 refusal (SD22A/0333), Jul 2025 | 10 Oct 2026 |
| Energia Huntstown data centresEnergia Group (Microsoft named as partner)Huntstown, north Dublin (Fingal), beside Huntstown power stations | Not disclosedThe 900MW in the source refers to the wind and solar supply, not the data centre. | Permitted An Bord Pleanála granted permission, with a substation, after appeals against Fingal County Council's April 2022 approval, Mar 2025 | 10 Oct 2026 |
| Google Grange Castle, third buildingGoogleGrange Castle Business Park, South Dublin | Not disclosed72,400 m² buildingConditions include evidence of power purchase agreements before development begins | Permitted An Coimisiún Pleanála granted Google's first-party appeal on 24 September 2026, overturning the council refusal for a 72,400 sq m data storage facility, the third phase of the campus., Sep 2026 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Microsoft Grange Castle campus, DUB14 and DUB15 with central administration buildingMicrosoft (Microsoft Operations Ireland Ltd.)Grange Castle Business Park, Nangor Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22 (South Dublin), west of data centres DUB9, DUB10, DUB12 and DUB13 | Not disclosed; the permission gives gross floor area only (DUB14 c.28,072 sq m and DUB15 c.28,173 sq mThe application lists 21 diesel generators for DUB14 and a 20-generator gas compound for DUB15; generator counts and fuel are not capacity. | Permitted South Dublin County Council granted an extension of duration for permission SD20A/0283 (two data centres DUB14 and DUB15 plus a central administration building) on 21 July 2026, after the extension application was received on 27 May 2026., Jul 2026 | 12 Oct 2026 |
Formal refusals and bans since 2025
Verified decisions only. Absence is not evidence of low planning risk.
Area-wide rules
- 12 Dec 2025Ireland, nationwide New large grid users must bring on-site or nearby dispatchable generation or storage and match demand with new Irish renewablesIn force
Decisions on single sites
- 4 Apr 2025Clondalkin, near Dublin Refused on appeal by the national planning boardStanding
- 19 Feb 2025Clondalkin, near Dublin Refused on appeal by the national planning boardStanding
Decisions from 1 Jan 2025; statuses checked 11 Oct 2026.
Power and grid in Ireland
The latest hour, IE(SEM) bidding zone
Updated 12 Oct 2026, 16:59 UTC; refreshed every 10 minutes. Ireland grid hour by hour, next 48 hours
Over a year, country level
Annual country averages, as used by the siting cost ranking. Production-based average carbon, not marginal.
Climate at Dublin
Hourly climate reanalysis at the city’s grid cell, from the market comparison; a site’s own conditions differ.
Fibre latency from Dublin
| To | Round trip, minimum | Path length | Path |
|---|---|---|---|
| London | 4.5 ms | 463 km | Straight line (no mapped land route) |
| Amsterdam | 7.4 ms | 755 km | Straight line (no mapped land route) |
| Brussels | 7.6 ms | 776 km | Straight line (no mapped land route) |
| Paris | 7.7 ms | 781 km | Straight line (no mapped land route) |
| Frankfurt | 11 ms | 1,088 km | Straight line (no mapped land route) |
| Copenhagen | 12 ms | 1,239 km | Straight line (no mapped land route) |
| Zurich | 12 ms | 1,239 km | Straight line (no mapped land route) |
Light in single-mode fibre between city centres, over the mapped land fibre route where one exists, otherwise the straight line. Operator routes, equipment and the last kilometres add to these floors. Any pair in the latency calculator
Rules and dates
| Where | Rule | Status |
|---|---|---|
| EU | Reporting duty from 500 kW installed IT power, 7 items and 24 indicators, next report 15 May 2027 | In force |
| EU | Waste-heat use above 1 MW total rated energy input, unless a cost-benefit assessment shows it is not feasible | In force |
| EU | Common rating scheme adopted 21 Sep 2026; in Parliament and Council scrutiny, extended 6 Oct | Adopted, not in force |
| Ireland | New connecting data centres must match at least 80% of annual demand with additional renewable-electricity projects | In force |
Next dates
- 14 Dec 2026the EU Commission's minimum performance standards consultation and call for evidence closes
- 15 May 2027EU database and French reports due every year
From the European data-centre regulation tracker and the market comparison.
Method
The pipeline covers data-centre projects of 5 MW or more, or with no capacity published, that are announced, in planning, permitted or under construction and not yet fully operating. It is not a list of operating facilities. A metro market follows the tracker’s own market field, so it includes the region around the city; a country page covers every tracked project in the country.
- Projects: each row is the latest public milestone we found for the project, with the date it was last checked; the pipeline tracker holds every project.
- Latest hour: carbon intensity estimated from the hourly generation mix, with the day-ahead price, refreshed every 10 minutes on the live grid page.
- Over a year: national averages for the latest full year, the same figures the siting cost ranking uses.
- Climate: hourly reanalysis at the city’s grid cell, 2016 to 2025.
- Latency: light in fibre between city centres over the mapped land route, otherwise the straight line.
Cite as: ScienceShot, “Data centre projects around Dublin”, https://scienceshot.com/data-centres/dublin/ (checked 12 Oct 2026). © ScienceShot. You may quote individual facts with a link to this page.
ScienceShot dataset, checked 12 Oct 2026. How we build it: Method and standards.